What is a Protected Area Advisory Committee?

A PAAC provides a means for a legitimate platform through which to communicate City Nature Reserve and Protected Environment issues to ensure participation of all stakeholders on matters of mutual relevance affecting the Reserve. The PAAC facilitate a constructive interaction between the Reserve and the surrounding communities / stakeholders. PAACs are established to encourage the building of constituencies in support of the natural and cultural heritage conservation goals of the City.

More information can be found in the Constitution of the City of Cape Town Protected Areas Advisory Committee_October_2014_Final

The official members of the ZPAAC as appointed (by application) by the City of Cape Town on 20 August 2018 are listed below. By common agreement the ZPAAC meetings are open to attend by all who request it, and conversation is welcomed, but if contentious issues need recommendations, the official members have the right to determine the outcome. Visitors and general members of the public are encouraged to air concerns via their representative.

  Delegate Organisation
1 Bernelle Verster Private
2 Noloyiso Dlamini Cape Nature
3 Graham Lewis Cape Nature
4 Mike Miller Peninsula Canoe Club
5 Barry Penn Peninsula Canoe Club
6 Gavin Lawson Cape Bird Club
7 Nyanisa Tshaya Department Environmental Affairs & Development Planning
8 Dr Andrew Martin Killick Private
9 Kate Snaddon Freshwater Research Group
10 Angus Hemp Marina da Gama Association
11 David Jubb Marina da Gama Association
12 Damian Gibbs Imperial Yacht Club
13 Gilzaen Sassman Imperial Yacht Club
14 Cherry Giljam Friends of Park Island
15 Pam Hepple Friends of Park Island
16 Dr Anthony Roberts Cape Town Environmental Education Trust
17 Louise Matschke Cape Town Environmental Education Trust